My Belief

Be Still And Know…

This is probably one of my favorite Bible verses.

Psalm 46:10 says; “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”

We do not often quote the entire thing, it is only usually the first half that receives any credence.  However, I feel the whole verse deserves our attention.

The first half is most often accompanied by visions of beautiful sunrises or sunsets, birds or butterflies.  Any image that evokes the peace and stillness that we are to understand is a part of our Lord.  I must admit that often I repeat this part of the verse over and over again, envisioning some serene place in my mind trying to calm and quiet my self and my soul to better be able to hear what it is that God is speaking to me.

For this reason it is one of my favorite verses.  As I have stated in my previous blogs, I tend to be busy and do not frequently take the time to slow down.  However, this verse forces me to stop for a moment and to just simply be still, just be still and know that God is God.  To attempt to understand the true magnificence of who He is.

The second half of the verse reminds us as believers that God is above all and will be exalted.  Combining the two halves it invokes an image in my mind of sitting in a quite place pondering the awesomeness that is our Lord and Savior, understanding that He alone is to be exalted and that He will be.

As I have gone along through my day, when I feel agitated or frustrated with a situation, sometimes just repeating the words “be still and know that I am God” is enough to keep me in a good place.

As you go through your week, try being still.  Listen. Contemplate. Know that He is God.

Many blessings!

Leave a Reply

