Not All Fertilizer Is Created Equal

God has been teaching me some great tools as of late.  I cannot say  that they are without a certain amount of being uncomfortable, however, they are much needed.

Not all fertilizer is created equal.

I work for an organization that conducts soil samples of fields, gardens, yards etc.  When the recommendations come back each is completely unique.  It depends upon the ph level of your soil, how much potassium, phosphorus, nitrogen and what it is you are going to plant in that location.

If you were going to fertilize let’s say your garden it would be unwise to apply a 10-10-10 fertilizer every year without having your soil tested.  What if you needed a 15-10-10 or a 15-10-5 ratio instead? Each location is unique to its needs.  The same can be said about the people around us.

What God has been teaching me lately is that each person I come into contact with has their own soil, each unique to what their fertilizing needs are.  As a mother of two teenagers I had to handle each child differently based upon what they needed at that time.  One child I stood on the edge of the nest, ruffled their feathers, encouraged them to take flight and they did while the other required a drop kick off the edge.

As a woman of faith, I have realized that my approach to handling not only my children but the people around me on a day to day basis must also be unique.  I cannot have the same interaction with each person in my life and be successful.  Just like a garden, each individual is unique to the type of fertilizer they need.

Some are strong in their faith, and need just a dusting to keep them going.  Some have been growing weeds and are in a serious need of a clean up not just fertilizer.  Some have long been a dry dessert and need water more than anything.

To meet these needs of the correct ratio of fertilizer with each person, my “soil test” is prayer and listening.  If you truly LISTEN not just hear and pray for the right words, attitude and fertilizer, God will give you the correct ratio to put on.

Enjoy your week, month, life. I pray that if you are reading this that God gives you whatever fertilizer it is you need at the moment.  Many blessings!

 

Published by

simplemesimplelife

I am a simple wife and mother of two crazy kids. My life has been filled with changing jobs, moving states, wild across the world travels and a constant desire to live life simpler and yet experience more. I believe this can be done! I believe in the Lord almighty and credit God with all good things that have been given to me, this includes my family. I aim to enrich and touch others' lives as they have touched mine.

One thought on “Not All Fertilizer Is Created Equal”

Leave a Reply

